Skip to main content



A caucus is an independent body of like-minded individuals who wish to make their voices heard to the Senate on a formal basis. A caucus is not sponsored, chartered, or directed by the Senate and shall not be charged a fee or dues to be recognized by the Senate. With the limited exceptions of Senate requirements for caucus guidelines, as shown below, a caucus is free to create processes and/or procedures without any approval of the Senate.

Caucus Guidelines

All caucuses shall:

  1. Submit their completed caucus recognition form annually to the Executive Vice President at least ten business days prior to a Board meeting to be approved. Caucus recognition must be renewed each year.

  2. Have a structure beyond simple membership. It must have a similar structure to that of Senate standing committees.

  3. Make an effort to provide open public access to their meetings using the provisions outlined by the most current version of the Ralph M. Brown Act.

  4. Not promote hate, violence, or any other offensive action against any other person(s).

  5. Not discriminate on the basis of gender identity, race, ethnic or national origin, social or economic class, property, age, genetic features, language, religion, disability, or sexual orientation or identity. Further, caucuses shall adhere to all federal, state, and relevant local laws regarding nondiscrimination in public and educational organizations.

  6. Not commit any illegal activities.

  7.  Not conduct activities that jeopardize the Senate’s status as an organization exempt from taxation under §501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

List of SSCCC Caucuses

Abled Caucus - Kristyna Blazkova
Asian Pacific Islander - Tehreem Khan 
Black Caucus - Lauren Sanders
Latinx Caucus - Frida Ramirez
Spectrum Caucus (LGBTQ+) - Kristof Clement
Student Trustee Caucus - Colm Fitzgerald
Women’s Caucus - Toni Schiffmaier
Veterans Caucus - Matthew Bentley

Caucus Membership Application